What’s Up With All The Broccoli?

At the risk of sounding like a nutritional heretic let me pose this question. Are we all just a little tired of broccoli? Yes, I know the tasty vegetable is chock full of vitamins, minerals and anti-occident’s and it is really good for us to eat, but really, every time you go out?

Check out this scenario: you’re out to eat with your friends, you want to behave yourself in regards to your nutrition so you say, “I’ll have the six ounce grille seared sirloin.” “Will you have the loaded baked potato with that or would you rather have the steak fries?” beams the size two waitress. “Do you have a substitute?” you say. “You can have broccoli or the vegetable medley (which means a watery mix of yellow squash and zucchini)” she says. She had presumed by your robust size that you would have had the fully loaded potato at first but now she understands you are trying to loose some of the heft you are carrying around with you and therefore are into a flavorless, steamed broccoli or boiled squash substitute. “Oh, I guess I’ll take the broccoli” you say “again.”

Don’t get me wrong, I like broccoli, I love it, but every time I go out. You’d think someone would think of ways to make it different wouldn’t you. Well, they have. Unfortunately you won’t find this in your local restaurant unless it is a really high end joint. I haven’t tried it yet but I will try this soon. One of my favorite cooks, Ina Garten (The Barefoot Contessa) has a recipe for Parmesan Roasted Broccoli. Basically, you roast the broccoli then toss with olive oil, salt, pepper, garlic, lemon juice and parmesan cheese. Another way to prepare broccoli is with a hollandaise sauce, Broccoli Hollandaise. I have the links for the recipes below.

If any of you who read this blog have good broccoli Ideas please share. I’m tired of having my broccoli the same way every time.

Check out Ina’s recipe here:
www.foodnetwork.com/reci
pes/ina-garten/parmesan-ro
asted-broccoli-recipe/index.html

You can find Tyler Florence’s recipe for hollandaise sauce here: www.foodnetwork.com/reci
pes/tyler-florence/holland
aise-sauce-recipe/index.html

3 Comments

Filed under Cooking, Food, Nutrition, Recipes

3 responses to “What’s Up With All The Broccoli?

  1. Another good thing to toss broccoli in is some minced onion and garlic mixed into some mayo with lemon juice/zest, salt and pepper.

  2. Pingback: Your Garden

Leave a Reply

