Hello world!

Hello, and welcome to my blog.  I’m actually quite new to this so bear with me as we go along.  I have a lot to learn about blogging but this is something I need to do for me.  I don’t know of any other way to learn about writing a blog than to dive in and start doing it.  What I am going to write about in this forum hasn’t really come into focus as yet but I am working on it.  It could be anything from cooking to building furniture or the philosophy of worship, or maybe even growing up in the fifties, who knows, but I will get focused soon and we’ll be off and running. To begin with, let me tell you a little about who I am. 
 
I was born in Tampa General Hospital August 6, 1946, exactly one year after the Enola Gay dropped the atomic bomb on the city of Hiroshima, not a claim to fame, just interesting that’s all.  I grew up on Palmetto Beach a blue-collar fishing community on the south-east side of Tampa.  We were a close-knit family who gathered quite frequently for practically any occasion.  This always included the entire extended family of grand parents, aunts, uncles, cousins and lots of food.  It was a good childhood and I have many fond memories of those days.  I walked or rode my bike to elementary school which was about a half mile from home.  Desoto elementary school sits at the north end of McKay Bay.  The school is separated from the edge of the bay by Desoto Park where I played little league baseball all through elementary school.  During the summers we fished and crabbed in addition to playing ball and all of the other activities that went on there in the park.  In junior high I started playing trombone in the band and continued playing throughout high school and college.
 
I didn’t attend college right out of high school, instead, I spent four years in the Air Force, one of which was in The Republic of South Viet Nam.  It was only after the military, marriage and three children that I decided to go to USF.  It was an interesting time, trying to make enough to support the family while working on the degree, but I did it and completed college in four years then moved the family off to Louisville, Kentucky for seminary. Following seminary, I worked as a professional church musician for many years, a career I truly loved.  Trust me on this, the ministry is truly a calling, no one would choose to work in that arena unless they felt a calling to do so.  Don’t get me wrong, I loved it and the rewards were tremendous, but the heartaches were there as well.  It was the falling apart of my marriage to my first wife that brought the career in ministry to an end.  I’m still involved in the ministry of music, just not in a paid position any longer.
 
Life took on new meaning for me when I was married, late in life (52,)  to Becky.  Eleven years of marriage and almost old enough for Social Security and Medicare, yet we are like two sixteen year olds.  She is one of the smartest women I know.  We cook together, we work together, we laugh and cry together.  She’s the best thing that has ever happened in my life.  We own a small remodeling business that focuses mainly on kitchen and bathroom remodeling.  Additionally, I am an aspiring furniture designer and builder. That pretty much brings us to the present.  There is a lot more that I could talk about regarding who I am but this should give you a little glimpse and hopefully help you to understand where I’m coming from in the future.
Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

